Writing 101, poetry- “graffiti”

Today’s challenge of writing 101, poetry is “graffiti”. Graffiti stands for a protrayal of freedom of thoughts from the strings that bind us to oblige by the convention. This is my take on the topic, metamorphically relating our trapped thoughts as the caged freedom of a bird. Happy reading! 

“My silence speaks as the graffiti in the sky”

Caught just as I blinked my eye

Into this rambunctious world

Tied and cuffed and handicapped

My charged soul unplugged. 

Into the cage of gold

Preserved with utmost care

My withering wings and parched lips,

The open skies glare 

Trapped in a space 

That’s now my world

Without a song to hum 

The trees with expectant eyes

Wait for my return

And I too wait

For the day to come

When the doors of this cage

Are drawn wide open to run

And cast my freedom 

Across the skies

As words articulating joy

Painting my silence high above,

As the graffiti in the silent sky. 

10 thoughts on “Writing 101, poetry- “graffiti”

  1. Dear Sparshsehgal,
    I’m so glad you gave me the opportunity to read your poem. You have written such a wonderful poem, after reading it I didn’t have enough words to tell you how much I loved it and what a gifted poet you are.
    My very best wishes to you.
    Take care,
    Ranu 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

